Mid week night out………

It is quite unusual for me to be out on a “school night”, but I took the opportunity to head down to Edinburgh this week to see my son (it’s the usual thing, if a parent wants to see the kids they have to go to them).

“Let’s go to this nice bar I know near the university” didn’t sound too exciting, but so glad we went.

The Dagda Bar, situated on Buccleuch Street (what a great name for a street), just off the Meadows and George Square, is a wee gem of a bar.

It is small, but has a wonderful selection of single malt Scotch whisky, and all at a price that makes this Scotsman smile. Examples from each region, loads of routine favourites and the odd gem made choosing what to have pretty difficult.

IMG_3002

So, after travelling over 200 miles to get there I had a couple of Benromach expressions (the distillery that is only five miles from my home) and a Dalmore 15 year old. My son had the Benromach Organic and Dalmore with me, but finished with a Cragganmore while I had the Benromach traditional.

Great atmosphere and nice staff made the whole experience wonderful, and I would highly recommend the place.

We wandered in towards town and plumped for another wee place, a folk bar called Sandy Bell’s. Having our last dram of the evening, a Caol Ila 12 year old, we were approached and asked if we would like to do a blind tasting of 12, 15 and 18 year old Glenfiddich. Well, it would have been rude to refuse, so we said yes!

I was really surprised when I settled upon my favourite and it was the 12 year old, surprised but happy, as this would of course be the cheapest. Second favourite was the 18, but the 15 was not far behind. The 12 year old was lovely, fruit and pears on the nose, creamy palette and smooth finish it was a delight. Also surprised tonight when I went on their website and saw the picture of the 12 year old next to a pear; my nose must be getting better!

So, all in all, it was a really good night out with my boy. So glad that I trained him well and we can now enjoy a wee dram together!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

