Mortlach 25 G&M Exclusive…….

Well, I thought my palate had changed and I didn’t really enjoy “sherry bombs” any more (I really am more of a bourbon cask fan), and then I tasted the Gordon and MacPhail Exclusive Mortlach 25 year old! At the end of a nosing and tasting experience last night our host got out this expression as a wee surprise.

IMG_3838Just as I was picking up the glass I could smell coffee wafting up toward me, and then I was smacked in the face with raisins, plums, dried fruit and woody notes.

You’ll see from the picture how dark the whisky was, almost black!

I was very surprised to taste a touch of smoke initially followed quickly by cream, sweetness and dried fruits.

The long and gentle finish was very satisfying, and I’m really thankful to Dan for opening this up for us. A very nice way to end the evening, very enjoyable.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

