Much ado about nothing……

No, not a play by Shakespeare, but the summary of my latest nosing and tasting notes!

IMG_4233Bowmore Small Cask is ok, but not great; I’m not really sure what they are trying to do with this expression.

I love Islay whisky (Caol Ila and Lagavulin are my favourites) but this is rather mild and weak in the phenol department.

I love ex-bourbon expressions but this doesn’t really hit me if the sweet spot in that area either.

Now it is not a bad whisky, but it is not great (have I said that already).

There is not a lot to say actually; the nose was quite weak with medicinal phenol notes, the smoky phenol notes developed later. There was also a sweet banana note in the background. The palate was sweet on the lips and a wee bit salty on the tongue, with a “whiff” of TCP and smoke.

I got this at a bargain price in a supermarket recently, beginning to think it wasn’t such a bargain after all!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

