When is a bargain not a bargain?

When the whisky is rubbish!

I do like a bargain, especially when it involves a bottle of whisky, so thought I’d try a couple of new expressions for me when I saw them reduced in the supermarket recently.

I’d scored a great hit this way before getting a Cardhu Gold Reserve at a belter of a price.

I did not get the some however with my Dalwhinnie Winter’s Gold and Haig Club Clubman.

The Haig, a single grain expression was very light, with a whiff of mint toffee (I regularly nose that in young whisky) and vanilla. There was a strange aftertaste, not sure what it was. OK, it was smooth, but not a long finish at all.

And the Dalwhinnie was like drinking water, no nose and no taste, nothing.

So a bargain is only a bargain if the whisky tastes nice, like Cardhu Gold Reserve.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

